Meeting Register Page

Meeting banner
RAS International webinar #18
Title: Locomotive Optimization
Speaker: Krishna Jha, Executive Vice President, Optym

Wednesday May 25th, 2022
10:00 EST NEW YORK
16:00 CEST AMSTERDAM
22:00 CST BEIJING

Abstract
Locomotives are one of the most important resource types for a railroad significantly impacting capital and operational expenditures, railroad service quality, and profitability. Considering its importance, optimization approaches have impact on a spectrum of locomotive related decision making starting from strategic procurement to the real-time assignments and maintenances. In this talk, we will discuss some of these decision problems and will share case study results establishing significance of optimization for locomotives.

Bio
Krishna, a data and optimization specialist, is a senior executive at Optym, a company providing advanced analytic solutions in the transportation and logistics industry. Krishna’s association with Optym started in 2000 when he joined Prof. Ravi Ahuja as his Ph.D. student and later transitioned into a founding employee of the company in 2004. Krishna has been an operations research practitioner for over 20 years, focusing on the design and development of algorithms that solve real-life problems in scheduling, transportation, and logistics. Krishna has led the development of several optimization and simulation software products for railroads, airlines, and mining companies.
Before moving to the United States in 2000, Krishna was an industrial engineer for four years at Tata Steel, the largest private sector steel producer in India.
Loading
* Required information